Strathendrick Curling Club Logo 4KSTRATHENDRICK CURLING CLUB
 Home > Archive > AGM Minutes Archive> 1895 AGM Minutes

Home Page
AGM minutes
1895 AGM minutes
News Items
Contact Us
Related Sites


1895 AGM minutes

The Annual General Meeting of the Strathendrick Curling Club was held on the evening of Thursday, 26th September 1895 in the Old Session House. 19 members were present.

Mr David Edmond, President, in the Chair.

The minutes of the last general meeting being that held on 8th October 1894 were read, approved and signed.

The secretary submitted balance of accounts for last year, showing a deficit in funds of 4-12/4 and on the motion of the chairman, it was agreed to increase the subscription for this year to 3/-.

The meeting then proceeded to the election of office bearers and these are as follows:
Patron - Colonel Blackburn
Patroness - Mrs Blackburn
President - Mr David Edmond
Vice Presidents - Messrs John Paul of Drumbeg, R Buchanan of Letter and D Wilson of Carbeth.
Representative members - Messrs David Fairlie and John Paul, Drumbeg.
Chaplain - Rev. James Dick.
Secretary & Treasurer - Mr David Fairlie.


R Buchanan Snr, J Paul Snr, D Edmond, J Gourlay, R Simpson, J Paul Jnr, D Wilson,
D McDowall, A Stephen, W Aitken, C Campbell, R Buchanan Jnr, D Fairlie,
D Goodwillie, W Gourlay.


The following Skips were elected by Ballot:
Mr David Edmond (19 votes), Mr David Wilson (18 votes), Mr David Fairlie (18 votes),
Mr Walter Aitken (18 votes), Mr John Paul Jnr (18 votes), Mr James Gourlay (15 votes),
Mr Robert Buchanan Jnr (13 votes), Mr William Gourlay (12 votes).

The following gentlemen were appointed a committee to look after curling House, pond and tools:
Messrs David Fairlie, David Goodwillie, R Simpson, W Gourlay, Arch Fairlie.

As the following year 1896 is the jubilee of the club, it was resolved to celebrate the event with a dinner and the following were elected to make the necessary arrangements:
Wm Houston (Convenor), D Fairlie, John Paul, W Gourlay, Rob Buchanan, David Aitken,
John Buchanan of Calibae.

Skips order of play is as follows:
J Paul Jnr, R Buchanan Jnr, D Wilson Jnr, W Gourlay, Jas Gourlay, D Fairlie, W Aitken,
D Edmond.

The auditors, Messrs Stephen and Paul found the Secretary's books correct.

Vote of thanks to the chairman brought the meeting to a close.

David Edmond

Top of page