Strathendrick Curling Club Logo 4KSTRATHENDRICK CURLING CLUB
 Home > Archive > AGM Minutes Archive> 1904 AGM Minutes

Home Page
AGM minutes
1904 AGM minutes
News Items
Contact Us
Related Sites


1904 AGM minutes

The Annual General Meeting of the Strathendrick Curling Club was held on Thursday 6th October 1904 in the Old Session House.

Present: Mr James Gourlay - in the chair, Rev. A Gordon Mitchell, John Paul, Matthew McKellar, James W Buchanan, Walter Paul, Robert Simpson, William Gourlay, William Morrison.

The minutes of the last meetings were read and approved.

The Rev. A Gordon Mitchell said:
We cannot enter on the business of this, our first meeting since Mr David Fairlie's death, without expressing our deep sense of the loss occasioned to us by hisearly and lamented demise.
This is not the place in which to speak of the feelings - almost of bereavement - with which the whole community are touched by his removal; but I may say with truth that he is sorely missed by the people of Killearn. Old and young feel that the village street is sadder for the lacking of his bright presence, his cheerful voice and his kindly smile.
Mr Fairlie was a keen curler and will long be missed on the ice, not only for his loveable social qualities but also for his skill as a player and skip. The Club sincerely mourn him as a neighbour, a friend, a brother-curler and a man.
I would suggest that we record in our minutes our sense of his work and of the loss we have sustained and that an extract be forwarded to his widow and child.[Editors' note The child is probably Walter Fairlie who died of his wounds in Belgium, at the age of 22, in 1917.]
The meeting unanimously adopted what Mr Mitchell had said and he as Secretary was instructed accordingly.

The Treasurer's Report was read and Mr. Walter Paul was appointed auditor. He having examined the Treasurer's financial statement, and found his accounts correct kept and sufficiently vouched and instructed, the meeting unanimously adopted his report which showed a balance of 3 16s 6d at credit of the Club.

It was unanimously agreed to that the annual subscription of members should for the current season be 3 shillings.

The Club proceeded to elect office-bearers for the ensuing season. These are as follows:
Patron - Lt Colonel Blackburn
Patroness - Mrs Wilson of Carbeth
President - Mr David Edmond
Vice President - Mr Alex Stephen
Representative members - Rev A Gordon Mitchell and Mr Matthew McKellar
Chaplain - Rev A Gordon Mitchell
Secretary & Treasurer - Rev A Gordon Mitchell


The Committee of Management were re-elected with the exception of David Fairlie deceased and Walter Aitken resigned.

The Pond Committee were re-elected and received the usual instructions as to arrangements with the Pond Master.

The meeting revised the list of members of the Club. From the list of regular members, the names of Walter Aitken, David Fairlie and James Thomson were removed and the names of John Paul Senior, Wm Houston, M Bennie Jnr and J E King were withdrawn from the list of occasional players. To this list the names of G Swan, Thomas Buchanan and James Paul, new members, were added.


The number of skips was fixed at 6.
It was moved by Mr Morrison, seconded by Mr Walter Paul and agreed to that J Gourlay,
D Wilson, R Buchanan and W Gourlay should be re-elected as Skips and that the other Skips should be elected by ballot.
Whereupon the following were nominated:
John Paul, Walter Bilsland, John Wilson, A Gordon Mitchell, W Buchanan.
The vote being taken ballot the result of the poll was as follows:
John Paul 8 votes, John Wilson 5 votes, A G Mitchell 3 votes, Walter Bilsland 1 vote,
W Buchanan 1 vote.
In accordance with the above result the Skips for this season are as follows:
David Wilson No.1, John Paul No.2, William Gourlay No.3, Robert Buchanan No.4,
James Gourlay No.5, John Wilson No.6.

Votes of thanks to the Chairman and Secretary terminated the proceedings.

Pond Committee

In accordance with remit from the General Meeting the Pond Committee met at the close of the meeting. Present R Simpson, W Gourlay, A G Mitchell. It was unanimously agreed to instruct the Secretary to request Mr John Wilson, Ice Master, to mow and prepare the pond for the winter's play.

Alex Stephen

Top of page