Strathendrick Curling Club Logo 4KSTRATHENDRICK CURLING CLUB
 Home > Archive > AGM Minutes Archive> 1906 AGM Minutes

Home Page
AGM minutes
1906 AGM minutes
News Items
Contact Us
Related Sites


1906 AGM minutes

The Annual General Meeting of the Strathendrick Curling Club was held on Thursday 11th October 1906 in the Old Session House.

Present: Mr Alexander Stephen, Vice President - in the chair, Rev. Doctor A Gordon Mitchell, Messrs James Gourlay, Walter Bilsland, Alexander Sinclair, James W Buchanan, Walter Paul, John Paul, Alexander Thomson, William Buchanan, Matthew McKellar, William Gourlay, William Morrison.

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting and of the subsequent meeting of the Pond Committee were read, approved and ordered to be signed by the Chairman.

The Treasurer submitted his annual financial statement. Walter Paul and J W Buchanan were appointed auditors by the meeting. They having examined the Treasurer's Book, and having found his accounts correct kept and sufficiently vouched and instructed, the meeting unanimously adopted the Treasurer's Report which showed a balance of 6 16s 11d at credit of the Club.

The Club proceeded to the Election of office-bearers. The office-bearers were re-elected and are as follows:
Patron - Lt Colonel Blackburn of Killearn
Patroness - Mrs Wilson of Carbeth
President - Mr David Edmond
Vice Presidents - Mr David Wilson DSc and Mr Alexander Stephen
Representative members - Rev A Gordon Mitchell DD and Mr Matthew McKellar
Chaplain - Rev A Gordon Mitchell DD
Secretary & Treasurer - Rev A Gordon Mitchell DD


The Committee of Management were re-elected and stand as follows: Rev Dr Mitchell, Dr Wilson, Messrs D Edmond, W Gourlay, J Gourlay, A Thomson, James Simpson, Matthew McKellar, J Paul, J Wilson, W Morrison, A Stephen, C Campbell, R Buchanan W Bilsland.

The meeting examined the list of members of the Club and found that no alteration was necessary therein. The list as in last year's Annual stands at 28 regular and 8 occasional players.


The meeting proceeded to elect Skips for the following season. It was moved by Matthew McKellar, seconded by Mr Walter Paul and unanimously agreed to that the retiring skips be re-elected.
In accordance with the above decision of the meeting the Skips for this season are as follows:
David Wilson DSc No.1, John Paul No.2, William Gourlay No.3, Robert Buchanan No.4,
James Gourlay No.5, Walter Aitken No.6.

The Pond Committee were unanimously re-elected. They are as follows:- William Gourlay, Alex Thomson, J Wilson, W Bilsland, Matthew McKellar, James Simpson, Rev Dr A G Mitchell (Convenor). The Committee received the usual instructions as to making arrangements with the Ice Master.

It was moved by Mr John Paul and seconded by Mr James W Buchanan that the subscription for the current season be fixed at 1 shilling and 6 pence.
It was moved by Mr William Gourlay and seconded by Mr William Buchanan that the subscription remain at 2 shillings.
On a vote being taken by a show of hands, Mr Gourlay's motion became the finding of the meeting by a large majority, and the annual subscription was fixed at 2 shillings.

The Secretary submitted to the meeting statements of the Secretary of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club, with regard to the Grand Match at Carsebreck and also the International Match at Lochmaben. These were allowed to lie on the table.

At the motion of Mr James Gourlay, a unanimous and hearty vote of thanks to the Vice President for his conduct in the chair terminated the proceedings.

Alex Stephen

Pond Committee

Pursuant to remit from the General Meeting the Pond Committee met at the close of the Annual Meeting. Present Walter Bilsland, William Gourlay, Alex Thomson, Matthew McKellar and Dr Mitchell presiding. Mr W Gourlay moved and Mr Matthew McKellar seconded that the Ice Master, Mr John Wilson, should be instructed by the Secretary to put the pond in order for the Winter's play. This was unanimously agreed to.

Alex Stephen

Top of page