Waldie Griffith

The Province has again entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition.

The Province Province opponents for 2011/12 were Peebleshire. The match took place at Murrayfield Curling Rink on Wednesday 26 October at 15.00.

The teams were as follows:

AAlex WillDonnie MacDonaldMaureen GriffithsStan Moore
BBetty MontgomeryJohn CrossRita BarthGill Smith
CGrant FarquharsonEileen McNultyGeorge HarrisMuriel Holroyd
DFiona GlassBen SomervilleJohn CarruthersSandy Shearlaw


The results were as follows:
Team 1 won by 10 shots to 4
Team 2 lost by 5 shots to 6 - This match was later voided due to Peebleshire fielding an ineligible player
Team 3 won by 11 shots to 9
Team 4 lost by 7 shots to 9
The total shots were adjusted to 29 to 22 which gives Forth & Endrick a win by 7 shots. This translates to a score of 2 1/3 which put the Province into 5th position out of 16 entrants.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.