Waldie Griffith

The Province has again entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition.

The Province Province opponents for 2012/13 were Lanarkshire. The match took place at The Peak, Stirling on Monday 26 November 2012 at 15.00.

The teams were as follows:

AGrant FarquharsonEileen McNultyGeorge McLarenSheena McKenzie
BDerek YoungBetty MontgomeryIan WalkerElspeth Murdoch
CDonnie MacDonaldBen SomervilleRita BarthMuriel Holroyd
DJanette WilsonFiona GlassBill McKenzieGill Smith


The match resulted in wins for Lanarkshire in all the matches except against Janette Wilson, which was pealed. The Lanarkshire result was +14 which is averaged to +3.5.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.