Waldie Griffith 2013/14

The Province has again entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition.

The Province Province opponents for 2013/14 are Ayrshire. The match took place at Ayr Ice Rink on Wednesday, 23 October at 14.30.

The teams are given below.



AAndy HemmingJohn CrossRita BarthDonald Hardie
BKen HutchisonAnn HutchisonJohn CarruthersGill Smith
CDonnie MacDonaldFiona GlassBob GlassLiz Paterson
DGrant FarquharsonEileen McNultyMuriel HolroydMaureen Griffiths


The result was a win by Ayrshire Province by 31 shots to 27. This gives them shots up of +4 which is divided by 4 to give an end result of +1. The individual match results were as follows:

Team 1 halved at 5 shots each.
Team 2 won by 10 shots to 6.
Team 3 won by 8 shots to 6.
Team 4 lost by 4 shots to 14.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.