Waldie Griffith

The Province has again entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition.

The Province Province opponents for 2016/17 was East Lothian Province. The match was arranged for Wednesday 8th February 2017 at 14.30 at Murrayfield.

The teams were as below.


1Gordon JacksonBen SomervilleJohn CoyleMaureen Griffiths
2John PhillipsKeith HyamMary MacDonaldGill Smith
3Bob GlassJohn CarruthersFiona RobertsonNander Robertson
4John PenmanRosemary MillerHarry BrodieMichelle Brodie


The result was a win in 1 match and losses in the other 3. Overall we were down by 20 shots giving an average of -5.



Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.