Waldie Griffith

The Province has entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition for the 2019/20 season. The match is due to take place in Perth on Saturday 14 March at 11.15 am. The opposition is Upper Strathearn Province.

The teams will be noted below.


1John SteelJanet SimpsonMary MacdonaldAlan Brunger
2Grant FarquharsonGordon JacksonKatherine AdamJohn Coyle
3Brian FergusonSteven RussellCaroline DavidsonRachael Hotchkiss
4John PenmanFiona GlassGill SmithHoward Royston


The result was a win in 1 match and losses in the other 3. Overall Forth & Endrick were 15 shots down. This gave Upper Strathearn Province a result of plus 3.75 which made them the leaders of the trophy for 2019/20. Unfortunately, it was not awarded as some fixtures had not been played.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.