Waldie Griffith

The Province entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition for the 2021/22 season.

The Province was drawn away against Midlothian Province. The date was Sunday 13 March 2022 at Murrayfield.

The teams were as noted below.


1Chris BilslandJanet SimpsonAlan BrungerMary MacDonald
2Donnie AllanJohn PenmanShirley FraserAlastair Campbell
3Gordon JacksonBen SomervilleJohn CoyleHoward Royston
4Grant FarquharsonJohn SteelFiona GlassEileen McNulty


All 4 teams lost. Overall, Forth & Endrick were 21 shots down. This gave Midlothian a result of plus 5.25 which made them the winners of the trophy for 2021/22.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.