Waldie Griffith

The Province has entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition for the 2022/23 season.

The Province was drawn at home against Border Province. The date was Saturday 1 April 2023 at 14.00 on the NCA.

The teams were as noted below.


1Grant FarquharsonBen SomervilleJohn CoyleEileen McNulty
2Harry BrodieAlastair CampbellJane HutchisonMichelle Brodie
3Gavin ScottCaroline DavidsonGordon WebberDonald Hardie
4Gill SmithNicola WoodwardJohn CarruthersKirsten McAlister


Teams 1 to 3 lost their games by 7 shots to 4, 14 shots to 6 and 9 shots to 3 respectively. Team 4 managed a 7 shots to 2 win. This gives an adjusted score of -4.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.