Waldie Griffith

The Province has entered the Waldie Griffith inter-province competition for the 2023/24 season.

The Province was drawn at away against West Lothian Province but it was agreed that it made sense to play the match at The Peak. The date was Saturday 10 February 2024 at 14.00 on the NCA.

The teams were as noted below.


1John SteelJanet SimpsonMary MacDonaldAlan Brunger
2Gordon JacksonNicola WoodwardJane HutchisonGregor Baillie
3John PenmanFiona GlassKirsten McAllisterGill Smith
4Nander RobertsonJean LeitchJohn CoyleFiona Robertson

The results of the matches were wins for teams 1 and 2 by 8 to 3 and 14 to 6 respectively, a peal for team 4 at 5 all and a loss for team 3 by 2 to 9. This gave Forth & Endrick an average score of plus 1.5.


Note(adapted from East Kilbride and Haremyres CC website)

Sir George [or more probably his son Sir Richard] Waldie Griffith of Hendersyde Park, Roxburghshire donated the Challenge Cup to the Kelso Club around 1909, who in turn suggested to the RCCC that it be played for nationally at province level. The competition, played each year between all the curling provinces is known as "The Waldie Griffith" and the Province which gains the highest average majority of shots per team over its opponents is declared the winner of the Challenge Cup, which they hold for one year.